New Recruit Needing Help! (Godot 4)

Hi, All.

New recruit here with GameDev.tv and looking to tap into your Godot knowledge. I am following along with the Complete Godot 3D: Develop Your Own 3D Games Using Godot 4 course, but have come across an issue I can’t seem to get my head around, even after rewatching the lesson.

I am currently on the Collision Detection lesson and have, as far as I am aware, followed all the steps, but it doesn’t seem to be working :pensive:. Also, I am new to the Godot engine so my terminology may not be on point just yet.

I have went to the player object and created a signal for the Rigid3dBody

I have also enabled the Contact Manager for the player object

I have add the target object (Landing Pad) to a group

I have added the exact code shown in the lesson

I should also point out that I am comfortable with programming as I have extensive experience with JS and Python so I assume that I am over-looking something else :persevere:

Hope you can follow the above and point me in the right direction :crossed_fingers:.

TIA

Stevie

Great! In general you should have an easy time learning the coding part then.

The first thing I’d check is whether or not the callback is actually being called. Easiest way to do that is to throw a print statement above the if-statement. The callback itself should be ok since the green icon beside line 15 indicates that this function has been wired up in the inspector, as you’ve indicated in your screenshots. It’s always worth checking though, as I have actually run into the occasional problem with that (probably just my own growing pains from learning the engine though).