My Space shooter game

Finished my space shooter: Aether Run. All assets (art, music, etc…) are mine with exceptions noted in the game credits. For me, the best part of this experience was pushing myself to make my own code. I had never coded prior to this course… I tried to push optimization (still lots to learn on that front, of course…) and getting rid of pesky null-reference errors. I don’t think that there are many lines of code left from the class, yet I would not have been able to make this little game without it. I really enjoy this course.

The music and art are “off” in places and I definitely wish I had thought through scaling pixel art/screen aspect more thoroughly before starting, but this is my first attempt at game art! The story is filler, but I wanted to create at least a template for a small but somewhat complete game. Most people so far who have played also found the game quite difficult unless they had played a bunch of intentionally difficult shmups. Still, I’m just happy to have made something!

General Game Description: It’s a classic space shooter with a simple twist: you can’t shoot everything. Choose from one of two aether craft pilots and fly through 5 planets in the solar system: fighting against space raiders and aether beasts while (1) rescuing escape pods and (2) avoiding destroying native aether crafts.

Some things I added:
controller support using the new unity input system (HUGE mistake to switch to this mid-project), level selection for the first 4 of 5 levels, ship power-ups, credits, player records kept for number of deaths/wins, sound test screen, ending cut scene and credits, master volume control, pause function, boss for each stage, ability to skip over cut scenes to easy replay when dying A LOT, plenty of enemies with different mechanics… what I probably SHOULD add is a difficulty mode :slight_smile: