My High Poly Chess Set WIP thread

I’m new to Blender but not 3D modelling, I still remember my first proper 3D render was a chess set I modelled in 3ds Max way back in 2007. I decided to just go ahead and model a high poly chess set as I learned most of the interface, tools and things that were being taught in this section while building my Mayan Pyramid from Section 2, and the Bowling scene from Section 3.

I’ll sculpt a Knight later when I get to grips with the sculpting tool, I assume they will be taught in Fluffy Bunny? I might do a simple Knight as a placeholder. I’m pretty happy with most of the pieces, the boolean’s work much better than 3ds Max, but its hard to get rid of some artifacts and shading errors sometimes.

Moving on to the lighting, rendering and texturing lessons from Section 4 (lessons 76+).

3 Likes

Screen grab from the rendered viewport, stil working on figuring out the lighting, camera and render settings. Fairly happy with the materials, need to tweak reflections, specular/glossy settings and lighting to get the look I want. Moving onto the next setting since its going to teach Cycles, which it what I’d prefer to be using due to the more realistic lighting.

Finally remembered to go back and create some better materials, lighting and render setting for this chess set. Not to mention model a knight.