Loving the 2D Course so far, but I'm wondering:

Hey Guys!

My name is Diogo and I have been a web developer / backend architect for 8 years now and I decided to join a little venture with a little group of mine to build a 2D game!

I’m currently taking the 2D Course but I’m wondering about 2 things:

Due to the nature of the course, I doubt that optimization will be deeply covered, we want to offer a lightweight game on all platforms, so this is a major topic, do you offer anything related to this?

The 2D Game we are planning to implement will rarely have a “true” multiplayer experience, it will be more of a shared world via an API ( similar to browser games like Travian or OGame) but we plan to eventually offer a true multiplayer experience in the format of a “1v1 turn-based battles” which will require us to synch things up.
From my research it seems that Unity already offers this, and you actually have a course for that, but there is also a mix of Unity + Photon that works on a peer-to-peerish fashion, what are your thoughts on this?

Sorry for the long post and great work!

Hi Diogo,

Welcome to our community! :slight_smile:

Unforunately, we do not have any courses focusing on performance optimisation. However, I can recommend the Unity manual. The most important things can be found there. Once you are familiar with Unity and C#, it is not that difficult. There are just many, many details you have to take into consideration. Unity also has got free tutorials on their website. For example:

See here: https://learn.unity.com/course/performance-and-optimisation

It’s a good start.

While we do have a Unity Multiplayer course, I’m not a teaching assistent there, and I’m not an expert in that field either, so I cannot answer any questions regarding multiplayer. Maybe @Marc_Carlyon can?

Thank you so much @Nina, really clear and helpful explanation :smiley:!

I will take a look at the performance and optimisation course after I’m done with the 2D one.