Legal Basics for the Indie Developer

DISCLAIMER: I am not a lawyer; this is not legal advice. Seek a lawyer if you have specific questions.

The simplest way to do the legal stuff is hire a lawyer. But this can be expensive. The following information is an overview of what I have learned from working with a lawyer who specializes in the US games industry. It may not apply outside of the United States.

You should set up a LLC to protect yourself. While trademark infringement and other issues can still be tied back to you even if you have a LLC set up, having a LLC will provide certain layers of protection in case you make a mistake. Having a company also makes you seem more official.

Set up a LLC through your state department. If you’re close to the capital, go in and ask for forms. If not, your state government website should have forms you can print and mail.

File a federal trademark for your company name and game name. Make sure to get the category correct. If the trademark is already taken in the games industry, consider changing your company or game name. This can be as simple as adding onto it. The Steam game Battlevoid had to change their name to Battlevoid: Harbinger for this reason. I believe Elite: Dangerous devs added the “Dangerous” to the title avoid a name conflict.

Note that a trademark takes time. You have to have “proof of usage”. If you file a trademark and one year later have no screenshots or anything to prove you are using the trademark, someone else can file and try to take it from you. Note that this also applies if you are trying to take a trademark.

My LLC is called Impulse, and Impulse was trademarked by Gamestop. However, we were able to negotiate the trademark from them because they haven’t used it in the past 8 years.