Lasers not firing at all now

Hey everyone, this is my first time commenting here and I’m completely new to Unity and only have a little programming experience otherwise, so apologies if I mess up the formatting or something.

I wanted to use the new Input System rather than learning something that may/will become outdated, but I’m wondering if this is one of the bugs that Rick warned about because I have no idea what else it could be - although I used Debug.Log and everything appears to be correct and working, so that doesn’t really seem right either. I went back to one of my previous commits where the lasers work completely fine, and ONLY changed the code to what was changed here, even copy and pasting from the Gitlab reference. I’ve got [SerializeField] InputAction fire; and my OnEnable() and OnDisable(), my lasers set properly, etc. of course.

So this:

void ProcessFiring()
{
if (fire.ReadValue() > 0.5f)
{
ActivateLasers();
}
else
{
DeactivateLasers();
}
}

void ActivateLasers()
{
    foreach (GameObject laser in lasers)
    {
        laser.SetActive(true);
    }
}

void DeactivateLasers()
{
    {
        laser.SetActive(false);
    }       
}

works perfectly, but this, with absolutely nothing else in my project changed:

void ProcessFiring()
{
if (fire.ReadValue() > 0.5f)
{
SetLasersActive(true);
}
else
{
SetLasersActive(false);
}
}

void SetLasersActive(bool isActive)
{
    {
        var emissionModule = laser.GetComponent<ParticleSystem>().emission;
        emissionModule.enabled = isActive;
    }
}