Is it possible to fuse these three meshes into one?

Technically i’m still on the mech portion of the character design for game dev course but i’ve been asked to make this frog thing by a coworker and i’m very new to blender (maybe a couple days max). I want to join the arm’s legs and eyelids with the body so its all one mesh but I feel like “joining” things in blender is more like the grouping function in most adobe programs.

2 Likes

I think you are jumping too fast forward in your Blender journey.
Understandable, because Blender is a creative tool, and all we want to do creative stuff in our minds. But you need more knowledge to do it in the correct way.

• You can JOIN objects into one object, and have a mesh consisting of multiple meshes.
  • You can use the boolean modifier to merge objects. You keep the squared mesh, but no loops between the merge objects (needed for better design control)
  • You can JOIN en do a re-mesh of the model. This creates a single mesh object based on mostly squared faces. Basically, this is the start of Sculpting a model. Which is a totally different process than something called “Block modeling” as demonstrated in the Cyborg project.
3 Likes

By the sound of it they are all in one object. But separate groups of mesh, vertices.

They can very much be joined together. Though normally one would develop the arms and legs out from the body mesh. Ensuring good topology.

Booleans will join things but are topologically messy.
You can also just select close by verts and merge them into one, a ‘by hand’ approach.

In edit mode.
Select all the main body by pressing L with the cursor over it.
Go to the FACE menu, go down to ‘Boolean intersect’ Click it.
Pop up box lower left, Set to Union. Probably best also to ‘fast’ as it is more forgiving, Exact sometimes does not work.
Shift Z for wireframe view and you should have the other parts now joined and inner parts removed.