Introducing the additive animation explodes my character

Hi -
For some parts of this course i’ve followed along in parrallel by implementing methods and solutions as I see fit - so my code ‘mostly’ is the same as the course - but some parts differ.

I’d like some suggestions on how i might troublehoot further - i dont expect anyone to find the exact cause of my issue.

When I add the additive animation for the aim offset - my character’s mesh is altered in a huge way:

Things are fine here:

but when i do this:

I get this hot mess that looks like it’s from ‘the thing’:

I’m very new to animations i know nearly nothing- however i get the feelling the additive animation is adjusting its scale from a point that i’m not expecting - i added other additive animations but i dont know if what i’m seeing is normal or not.

This usually happens when it’s not the exact same skeleton being used. Are you sure you picked the right one when creating the offsets?

Thanks for the tip - I wasn’t able to confirm that as an issue; but i’ve done some more troubleshooting. Of interest - The mesh returns to normal if I kill the player.

And replacing my blend space with one of the pre-existing ones doesnt correct anything:

EDIT1:
Also just tested creating a blank animation blueprint and got corruption:

My Game mode setup:

BP_MyPlayer: (note the skeletal mesh and animclass)

The wraith skeletal mesh: (note the preview animation is set to the Aim Offset and causes no issues)

And yet when i use it in my graph i get corruption:

i’ve now spent more than 4 days on a bug that occured on the 4th last video in a course iv’e spent two years trying to complete. I’m unable to resove this now as in troubleshooting i’ve created more mess in the desperate attempt to determine where the issue lies.

I finally just copied all of the lecturers code and assets from github and imported it into my project, recompiled - fixed a few things and… NOPE - still same issue.