I'm not getting FLerp, FInterpConstantTo, FInterpTo

Hello There!!

In lecture no. 101 I’m still pretty confused and not getting the lecture.

I just want to know what they do, we we use them, when should be use them. I haven’t got the syntax too. “FMath::FInterpTo(CurrentYaw, 70.f, DeltaTime, 2);”, What does DeltaTime mean here and all sorts of that stuff.

It would be really nice if someone explains me this. Please be a bit descriptive, I’m still a beginner.

Thanks for reading,
BYE!!

FMath is a class with static member functions, meaning you don’t need an instance of FMath to call it.

class Example
{
    static int GetStatic() { return 10; }
    int GetNonStatic() { return 20; }
};

int main()
{
    int V1 = Example::GetStatic(); // V == 10
    int V2 = Example::GetNonStatic(); // Error! GetNonStatic needs an instance of Example
    Example E;
    int V2 = E.GetNonStatic(); // 👍
}

The time since the last frame.

Lerp is just a linear interpolation between 2 values.

FMath::Lerp(5, 10, 0.5);

Would return 7.5 as that is half way between 5 and 10.

FMath::Lerp(5, 10, 0.25);

Would return 6.25 as that is a quarter of the way between 5 and 10.

FMath::InterpTo interpolates between two values using a delta time and speed to calculate the values. It starts strong and eases out. e.g. (using between 5 and 10 again and some unknown speed/deltatime)

7       # diff of 2
8       # diff of 1
8.5     # diff of 0.5
8.75    # diff of 0.25

FMath::InterpConstantTo interpolates between two values with a constant step e.g.

# always +1
1 Like

Hi @DanM

Thank you so much, this gave me a better understanding of what lerp, FInterpConstantTo and
FInterpTo do. I’ll try to explain what they do-

Lerp-

FMath::Lerp(9, 20, 0.5) = 14.5

FMath::InterpTo(9, 20, x, y) -

14 # diff of 5
17 # diff of 3
18.5 # diff of 1.5
19.5 # diff of 1
20.0 # diff of 0.5

FMath::InterpConstantTo -

Correct me if I 'am wrong anywhere. If not then please tell me that too.

Thanks for helping,
BYE!!

1. Yes.