Hype, cost and loyalty

I’m fairly new to board gaming but I’ve noticed a tendency for certain games to generate hype before or shortly after release. These get glowing reviews, but then after a while the negative reviews roll in. Examples that spring to mind are Gloomhaven, Terraforming Mars and Scythe. Personally I’d rather wait a while, let the price fall and wait for a more balanced response from users. Thoughts?

On BGG I also read an interesting debate on what was better Gloomhaven or Kingdom Death:Monster. Most people had voted slighted in Favour of Gloomhaven but in the comments people were more vociferous in support of Kingdom Death. Gloomhaven is retailing between £100-£130 and KDM about five times this! I’m interested in your thoughts on the physcology of loyalty based on investing heavily in something.

2 Likes

That’s a great question.

It’s interesting to me that all of those examples were massive kickstarter campaigns. Kickstarter has a lot of potential for small or medium developers/publishers to get their game out there, but it’s got some inherent problems For example, in order to get enough people interested you have to have a really solid game and be able to hype it to the hilt.

Then you’ve got the problem of stretch goals; people expect you to have a plan if you exceed your funding, and the easiest thing to do is to put in higher quality components and flashier bit and bobs. People often in a few Kickstarter exclusives. The problem here is that one of these things guarantee the game is going to be any better. And kickstarter exclusives can feel like punishing people who want to buy your game after the kickstarter is finished but either didn’t know about it beforehand or didn’t have the cash at the time. Worse, a lot of kickstarter games aren’t readily available at retail.