How-to for UE5.1, Enhanced Input System

Hi!

I am by no means an expert, so I’m sure there are improvements to be made to this, but I figured out one way to get it going with the Enhanced input system (as the old one is deprecated now).
I got the gist of it from here.

Here’s a step-by-step of how I did it:

1. I started by deleting all the action and axis mappings that were already in Project Settings->Input, just to have a clean slate for the Enhanced input system.

2. Add “EnhancedInput” to The PublicDependencyModuleNames.AddRange in ToonTanks.Build.cs, so you end up with something like PublicDependencyModuleNames.AddRange(new string[] { "Core", "CoreUObject", "Engine", "InputCore", "EnhancedInput" });.

3. Set up Input Mapping Context and Input Actions in the Unreal Editor. I made a folder called Input under Content in the Content Browser. Right-click in the content browser, select Input->Input Mapping Context to create a new one.
    I named mine IMC_PlayerInput.
    To create the Input Actions, select Input->Input Action after right-clicking.
    My folder contents now look like this:
    One Input Action for each action that Stephen has.
    Opening the Input Actions, one can set their Value Types. Axis1D (float) gives the equivalent of an Axis mapping, and Digital (bool) gies an Action mapping, in the old system terms. Two examples:

The button mappings are set in the Input mapping Context;

Note the Negate modifier on the S and A keys, as we want them to give a value of -1.

4. We want our Tank C++ class to have acess to all of these. One way to do this is to make varaibles with UPROPERTY, that we can then input in the blueprint. Something like this:

//Setting up inputs. Mapping context and Input Action variables, to be set in Blueprint
	UPROPERTY(EditDefaultsOnly, BlueprintReadOnly, Category = "Enhanced Input", meta = (AllowPrivateAccess = "true"))
    class UInputMappingContext * inputMapping;