How do you get tired after programming?!?

Hi there,

I’m rather new to programming (I started studying at university again one year ago. Before that I was a musician…) and with increasing frequency I find myself in the position of “getting into the flow” of programming - especially in the late evening. And when I want to go to bed my mind just keeps on buzzing and working and I’m just too awake to sleep.
While I kind of do enjoy that realy productive state, come next morning I’m just really tired-out and good for nothing.

So, I wanted to ask those of you that know that feeling: How do you cope? Do you have any advice on how to get the mind to shut up and sleep?!

Since this is quite a new phenomenon for me in that special way, I’m rather helpless at this and would really appreciate any ideas you might have. I already tried meditation music, going for a walk and reading but so far, nothing helps…

Thank you for your help,
Veronika

1 Like

Hi Veronika,

Like you I find the evenings and early hours of the morning ideal for coding, I tend to start off initially a bit tired after a long day but then I hit a point where I’m active and in the zone that will easily take me into the early hours. Once I start goung thiugh I tend to find its hard to stop and revel in having a quite house/environment to work in.

I’m not sure how you could make yourself switch-off so to speak, maybe setting a deadline/time limit which incorporates say another half an hour at the end to do something. Perhaps you slump into your favourite cosy chair with some warm milk, or read a little, but something easy to read, some fiction rather than something “thinky”. Could also be worth having five minutes after the coding before the half an hour to just brain dump all the ideas and thoughts about what you have been working on on to a piece of paper, letting go of them until the following day so that your brain doea keep saying to you “and dont forget to update that method” and so on.