Highly recommend skipping this one for new players

If you aren’t confident that you can pickup on the Lecturer doing things wrong, and general bad practice in regards to CPP and Unreal Engine, you should maybe skip this one. The other videos in this course have been great, so the value is still there, but this one is riddled with bad practice and it’s honestly more likely to cause you problems than to help you with anything.

It may seem like this project is the more advanced culmination of all the things we’ve learned up to this point, but it isn’t, and the code presented is just bad. I mean using pointers without checking if they’re null bad.

It does go in to the animation system, and I’m not experienced enough to say if that part is wrong, so there’s that, but nearly everything else is done in a bad way, and he bounces around so much it’s very uncomfortable to watch, much less if you want to follow along. For example, anyone with experience with UE will tell you that the right way to compile is to close the UEEditor and compile from your IDE/cli. You can get by with Livecoding/Live++ if you aren’t modifying header files, but you should always close UEEditor and compile from the IDE or CLI if you modify a header file. This guy will create a single variable in a header file, go back in to the UEEditor, and then back to create another variable in the same header file, related to the same task, and then back to UEEditor and back and forth several times as he remembers or figures out what he needs. It’s obvious there is very little up-front planning here, and that leads to half-baked methods and bad practices, and revisiting code far more often than needed.

Jut trust me, and skip this one if you don’t trust yourself to pick out all the bad.

Just want to also mention that this same guy has done a lot of good stuff. This must just be some of his earliest content.

1 Like