[HELP] 'Tweak' solution insufficient... how to make paddle velocity affect ball vector?

Like several others here, I’ve noticed that the ‘tweak’ solution, while it helps prevent perfectly vertical “boring loops” doesn’t stop boring loops altogether. In my experience, I’ve found that I’m getting even more of them. For instance, say the right half of the blocks are cleared, and the ball is bouncing up and down in the empty right half. What happens is that, because there is a random force applied to change the ball vector, the ball will typically stay within a horizontal range, bouncing a bit left (randomly) then a bit right (randomly), and it can take a very long time to get a sufficient number of random vectors in the same direction to push the ball out of this horizontal range (if it can escape at all).

The best solution would be to make this even more Arkanoid-like, and use the paddle position and ‘x’ (horizontal) velocity to impact the ball vector. As a beginner, I don’t know how to make this work. If there are any more experienced beginners (or instructors) who have some ideas on how to do this, I’d be really happy to hear them. Thanks!

I’m not sure of the answer but since the paddle is kinematic I’m not sure it will have a velocity property since it only moved when instructed by the script.

1 Like

I think what needs to be done is to calculate the difference between the paddle’s current ‘x’ position and its ‘x’ position some number of milliseconds earlier. Based on that, the script could determine which direction the paddle was moving and how quickly. And based on that value, a new vector could be calculated for the ball at collision. But don’t ask me how to script that or rig it in Unity yet, as I have no clue!