Having trouble with final frontier lecture

Does anyone have some insight/advice on where I went wrong on the initial perspective? I tried to keep vertical lines straight for the two point perspective, but I seem to be skewed a lot higher than Grant in the lecture. I also ran out of room, I’m not sure if I just overshot on the initial boxes for the base of the ship.

Also Grant do you have any lecture videos here or on youtube on getting yourself “unstuck” or kind of fixing perspective errors if you find yourself running into them? I tried to judiciously use guides… but I may have excessively done so I don’t know if it really helped me here.

Programmer by trade first drawing course for background on me.

3 Likes

Not so sure what you mean. But the camera perspective is high.

It’s because your vanishing lines are too wide apart. The first (top) and lower (bottom) ones.
Then you get the effect of a macro lens, zooming in on the subject.

The square, painted by the red vanishing lines, was the cube for the spaceship. You wend far beyond it.

Also, if you increase the distance between the two vanishing points (laying outside the paper). The distored effect (but also depth) will disappear!

Have fun, experiment different vanishing points!!!

2 Likes

Sorry for not being clear. My problem is exactly that the camera perspective is higher than in the lecture and I’m not sure what I did that caused that.

To clear up some of my confusion, you mean the distance between the lines that go to the vanishing points right? I need to use smaller distances between these diagonal lines? Or do you mean that the vanishing points themselves are too far apart (the horizon line is the horizontal line, with the right vanishing point on the page, and an imaginary one off to the left of the page).