Good section on saving overall!

I had asked this question earlier, but it may have been to early to ask.

I am a beginner game developer so please bare with me.

In my past I programmed a LOT of state!, moving data for business… (IT’s how I made a living, I was always the band-aid for CFO’s in Corporations) Excel VBA is what I used to get the CFOs the data from Web apps. Export from one web app, open and have the VBA distribute the data(state) within the Excel Workbook on the correct worksheets that the state lived. (before web was as fast this was a BIG deal as real time data is better to have)

What I am getting at is this…

In an RPG game what are the basic States that me as a developer will want to track.???

I am hoping to get a list of the properties that are normally tracked in an RPG.

I know there is a lot of variety for how this can be accomplished… so a list of basics or possibilities would help me understand RPG state(s) for game development…

This would help a newbie like me know what data I should or more importantly could be focused on.

Thanks in advance.

PlayerName,
Health,
position
Equipment:
currentEquipmentInUse,
currentList available,
Weapons:
Sword,
Bow,
unArmed
currentWeapon
Ammo:
Arrows,
Etc…
Etc…

This is my current guess of some of the basic data I would want to save…
Does anyone have a generic list of data to track for a RPG?

Thanks in advance…

I hope you don’t hate my answer, but here goes nothing.

There’s no such thing as basic data to track for RPGs. If you go and search for something like what you are describing you’ll find it, that doesn’t mean is a convention and a simple question can prove that. What if you are making a game that doesn’t have bows? What’s the point of saving data for arrows? I can repeat that question with every item on your list.