Godot 4 Multiplayer: Make Your Own Online Game

Hi,

After getting an error I noticed the version of the software changed as the lectures progressed. The first version is 4.1.3, and at the 46% completion mark, at the bottom of the screen of the instructor the version he was using was 4.2.1.

Maybe this is why I am getting the error? I am current stuck in this course.
My background is no longer visible after creating a node for a menu, renaming it UI,and clicking ‘Make Scene Root’. Need to view it from the 2D tab, you’ll see the background is not visible.

Any assistance is appreciated.

Thank you!

Hi,

Unfortunately out tagging system has not worked on this occasion and so its not letting me know which lecture this is.
If you can let us know the lecture this is on we may be able to tailor our replies a bit better.

The error you are getting is because the _on_player_disconnected method has no idea what the indentifier “id” is as its not been passed in.

Line 47 in your code should have the id passed in the parenthesis as below

func _on_player_disconnected(id):

Hope this helps and you can upgrade to 4.2.1 without any issues but there are not many changes to note and certainly i dont think any that affect this course.

2 Likes

I was able to correct the error. id typed in on line 47. How did I miss that!? :slight_smile:

The lecture is Godot 4 Multiplayer: Make Your Own Online Game - EARLY ACCESS.

I am on the lecture titled: Starting The Game.

Just after the 3:00 mark on video, mine background disappears. The lecturer’s does not. My inspector does not look the same either. This occurs after the instructor clicks and drags menu.gd from FileSystem window up to the Scene window. The menu.gd with the IP Line Edit and Status Label are not available.

Instructor’s screenshot:

My screenshot:

I see your Menu node is a Node2D, while Nathan’s is a white (Base) Node. As there are important differences between the two, that’s likely part of the problem =)