Getting an additional error message

During this section, I’ve come across an additional warning that doesn’t appear and isn’t addressed in this lecture. I’ve started looking into this, but I’m a beginner and can’t quite figure out what’s going on here (and wanting to address it in the spirit of sorting warnings).

It’s a C4267 warning - ‘return’: conversion from ‘size_t’ to ‘int32’, possible loss of data

For whatever reason, the compiler doesn’t like the return value on line 33 (return MyHiddenWord.length();). Code below…

https://gist.github.com/92408512049/4438c0ed2b77079cfa379923d89d31a1

Is anyone able to help me understand what’s happening here?

Okay, will admit that I didn’t search for a possible solution on this forum first (though I did scan this topic section). The suggested solution is to alter the using statement from…

using int32 = int;

to

using int32 = size_t;

However, it’s unclear to me if this needs to be done globally, and if it’s actually a good idea to make this change given that it breaks alignment with the current course syntax (I’ve gotten in trouble a few times already by doing that).

To test this, I made the change in the class file and it just threw out additional problems (didn’t actually fix it).

Thoughts?

What’s happening is that MyHiddenWord.length() returns a value of type size_t, which is not the same as int32. In fact, int32 is always stored in memory with 32 bits, while the size of size_t depends on the target platform (32 bits for 32-bit applications, 64 bits for 64-bit applications). You are probably compiling for a 64-bit platform, which means that you are trying to take the 64-bit value returned by MyHiddenWord.length() and assign it as the 32-bit return value. The compiler then warns you that this kind of conversion might cause loss of data (64 bits of data can’t fit in 32 bits).