General Lecture/Section02 problem :/

Hi There
I’, having a general problem with the lecture, so far on Section 02.

The problem is that so far I understand everything Ben tells us, every line of code he shows seems logical when he explains and so on…

My only problem is, that whenever he wants me to figure something out myself (Like in Lecture 34 - when he tells us to replace WORD_LENGTH (about 3:50 in the video)) - I have absolutely no idea what so ever on where to start. No idea as to what would be smart to do (and the fact that he many times say that it is quite simple bothers me. If it is simple, why can’t I figure it out?)

Anyways, do you think this “problem” will “go away” as wI get more familiar with coding or do you have any idea as to what I could do?

Hello,

Not to worries, I felt the same way :slight_smile: I am very new at this as well.

I believe, he does that on purpose, because programming requires one to think of solutions to problems and since there is not “standard” way to do things, there is a syntax but there is no established ways of doing many things and it comes up to us to figure out how to approach it or how to solve it. There is a reason why Projects are parts of “Solutions”.

Therefore, we have to get in to the minding of identifying problems to solve every step of the way.

So my advice…do not be afraid to experiment.

He hinted that we need to put Word_length somewhere, think about what the “constexpr” was there for, repeat the part he introduced it in the video what was it linked with, I’ll give you a hint. The “X”…so the problem is how to replace the “X” with World_Length’s value, use the CTRL-F5, do a small change, then run the program does it work is it as you want it? Make changes Run it again. Use what we have learned so far, the learning is procedural.