Fun with the Human Head

Just spent this evening making this. It’s not done yet, but I’m pretty amused with it so I wanted to share it before I go to bed. More info in the morning.

9 Likes

Creepy!

2 Likes

Thanks!

I started doing to the Human Head section. This is my first attempt.

I went for the “Poly to Poly” method, and basically extruded the vertexes/edges one by one or in groups for the whole thing. It was a bit tedious, but I liked having control of the shape. This is my first LOD, and I’m pretty sure it’s too detailed for the beginning. In fact, I already removed many edge loops to reduce detail, which was giving me difficulty as I tried to round out the back of the head.

After I finished the mesh, I got excited to play around with it, so I did what anyone would do and slapped the head onto a little wheeled Robot. Above is the model without textures.

And here’s what it looks like in LookDev mode. It’s a first attempt, as I said, and still a work in progress, but as always I appreciate any feedback you all have to offer. Anyone else trying the “Poly to Poly” method? I’d love to hear from you.

Cheers!

4 Likes

Wouldn’t want to mess with this bad boy! I’m barely done with the first section so I don’t have any useful input but I think this really captures the essence of what an Evil Mastermind Bot would be. The detail in the head shape and face is great! Looking forward to the progress.

1 Like

Most fitting, especially when you up the poly detail later. Clearly Davros before he got a full Darlek base.
https://thedoctorwhosite.co.uk/dalek/davros/

1 Like

Whoa, it does look like that guy! Funny, because I’ve never watched Dr. Who. :joy:

The latest silliness. This is too fun.

4 Likes

And goodnight.

4 Likes

Changed the thread name because I’m moving away from the Mastermind Bot and just playing around with different heads.

Here’s the latest iteration.