[FEEDBACK] How to Get a Job in the Videogame Industry - My steps

Hello everyone!
I’m currently following the “How to Get a Job in the Video Game Industry”, and I’m having some troubles in defining my steps to reach my dream job (which, for the record, is becoming Lead Programmer in a mid-sized Indie studio, making RPG games). Could you please give me some feedback?

As of now, I’ve wrote down those points:

• Lead Programmer on an RPG game
  • Lead Programmer on any game
  • Senior Game Programmer in an Indie Studio
  • Gameplay Programmer in an Indie studio
  • Get a job as Junior Programmer in an Indie studio

…but here I’m stuck. I know that I need to improve my knowledge, make some games, have to prove my value to a potential employer, but I’m losing my focus. I’ve spent the last 6 months studying by myself on Unity (both with side projects, 2 game jams and some Udemy courses), after quitting my job as software developer in banking (I’ve got 8 years worth of experience on an old system, which for the sake of simplicity we’ll say it’s COBOL, but not really). But I feel like I’m wandering with no real progress, jumping from one topic to the other, and being generally overwhelmed by the sheer amount of topics that a video game making process can involve. What do you think I should do next? Or do you think that this is a good list already? I guess my very next step is to enrich my “portfolio” (if there’s such thing as a portfolio for programmers), but I’d like to hear from you guys!

Thanks
Willy

Hey Willy,

I just started to take this course too. I can’t say I am an expert but just going off the tutorial and advice from industry professionals. Sounds like you’ve already got a repertoire of games and applicable skills. You should definitely showcase that in a portfolio as you’ve already suggested.