Escape From The Cosmic Abyss - Flappy Bird with some rouguelike elements

Hello Everyone! My name is Daniel and I’m a brazillian illustrator and graphic designer.

I heard about godot engine back in the end of 2016, and it was this that brought me to the game developing world. Throughout 2017 I kept learning about programing, gamedev, and godot at a slow pace, whenever I could, between jobs and things like that. Later I got to know udemy and gamedev.tv because of this so I’m really excited about gamedev.tv’s godot course.

With what I learned about it on tutorials, the godot documentation and another course on udemy, I begun developing “Escape From the Cosmic Abyss”. I consider it to be a “portfolio” game as it’s a project I’m using both to learn and solidify programming skills, as well as create art for it, and hopefully add it to my portfolio to help me get a job either as programmer or as an artist.

You can play the game on itch.io, if you do play, give me your feedback! It’s always helpfull!

If you’re curious about game development, there’s also a devlog on itch!

And here are some gameplay gifs:

Hope you all like it!

6 Likes

This is gorgeous! I love the use of color here, and really great gameplay elements

1 Like

Really good work ! I really like your art! :smiley:

2 Likes

This is really great work!
I mean it really shows that you were an artist to begin with :grin:
Visually this game is very well polished!
The overall art design and attention to detail is great! The menus look cool, well animated and all …

Now the game mechanics work, and I applaud you for choosing something simple, but that is an area you could improve, I think.
I’m too lazy to collect my thoughts thoroughly right now, maybe some other time, but here’s the short of it (might all be just my personal lack of skill :slight_smile: ):

I’m having a little trouble getting into a flow. Canabalt for example does this a lot better.