[Duplicate] Issue with Action Master Script

Note: Edited to correct issues after folks pointed out things I didn’t notice as it was late at night. :slight_smile:

There is an assumption that any (bowl >= 18) is the 10th frame. That is a FALSE assumption. Here is a simple example:

Frame: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 10 10
Frame Score: 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
Bowl: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

In reality, the 10th frame can have bowls between 10-21. Note: Ben’s final solution does address this issue by inserting into the data stream on the fly. There are other solutions that will work as well.

I thought my last version of the code was correct, but it wasn’t.

So I copied all the “Verification” tests from the score master tests and ported them over.

To be fair, this is a difficult problem. I have 30 years of experience as a professional Software Engineer, and this was difficult for me.

Here is an alternate solution:
https://pastebin.com/UJnm8NU6

Hope this helps,
Dan

If you look at the bottom end of the action master code it’s got this:

if (rolls[i] == 10) {
                rolls.Insert (i, 0); // Insert virtual 0 after strike
                nextAction = Action.EndTurn;

So when you bowl a strike it updates the list from 1 to 2 rolls ie if you bowl 10, 10, 10 then what comes out is 10, 0, 10, 0, 10, 0. Meaning if you pass 9 strikes in you end up with a list that’s 18 elements long.

This is also why you need the scoreframes running BEFORE the animator runs the ActionMaster otherwise every strike will return as a spare. I spent an hour debugging that one yesterday :frowning:

1 Like

Some of the code - mine included I think - would skip a bowl on a strike but still have it in our array/list, which meant as far as the counter was concerned, frame 10 would still start at bowl 18+.

Something like:

// Which bowl of the frame
		if (bowls % 2 == 1) {
			if (pins == MAX_PINS) { // Strike
				bowls += (bowls >= LAST_FRAME ? 1 : 2);
				return Action.EndTurn;