Different; works; but is it OK? - GetActorLocation().ToString()

What I used:

TransformPositionCPP

It’s shorter, but is there any reason not to use it?
Here’s the game output:

GameLog

Edit: Looking at other posts, I see that Transform gives Scale and Rotation as well, which may be important later. However, this works well for just Position.

1 Like

I came up with the same solution, I am a competent Java Developer so am used to trolling through intellisense / documentation, While the Section is called Transform, the field we wanted was Location so I used intellisense and typed ->Get then started typing Location and guess what - it found GetActorLocation()

Champion!!!

1 Like

I came up with the same solution.So, wanted to know, is it correct?

Does it work? Then it’s correct. In either case, you are getting the x,y,z of the transform. I found 3 main ways:

FString pos1 = GetOwner()->GetTransform().GetLocation().ToString();
FString pos2 = GetOwner()->GetActorLocation().ToString();
FString pos3 = GetOwner()->GetTransform().GetTranslation().ToString();

There is a subtle difference between GetActorLocation() and GetTransform().SomethingElse. Mainly, if you are only dealing with the location and don’t need the other elements that are on the transform, it is a little less typing and less referencing. GetTransform() gets you the entire component and everything that comes with it, while GetActorLocation is a shortcut to just the location you might be looking for.

I doubt there is much performance difference between these because of the compiler (if it were an interpreted language, GetActorLocation is calling less functions which would be faster).

The thing I’m not sure of is why there is both GetLocation() and GetTranslation() that seem to return the same values. The unreal docs are pretty terrible on this. GetTranslation “Returns the translation component”, while GetLocation gives you a “Temp function for easy conversion”.