Curse of the Hodag

My game is called Curse of the Hodag!

Curse of the Hodag is a classic arcade block breaking game with a slight twist. Dodge turtle shells and snakes flung at you from the mysterious and mischievous hodags. It features two gameplay modes: regular and hardcore. In regular mode, you progress along a map and the game will save your progress between levels. In hardcore mode, you only have 10 lives to make it all the way through the map, achieving as high a score as possible.

All art and music was created by me. Sound effects were found in free Unity assets, which are credited in game. The font I found on dafont and is also credited in game and on the game page.

Post Mortem
Wow, feature creep is a very real thing. This game is still only about 3/5s of what I wanted to do, even after culling the many ideas that came to mind as I was building it.

The art took me a very long time, but was very enjoyable. I’m not an artist, so I spent probably 3 days working on a pixel-art background, which was terrible. So I started over, and this time it took 2 days and was much better, but still terrible. So I started again, ditched the pixel art style, and finally came up with something I actually kind of liked. It took me a full day to finish it. I then created 4 more backgrounds in the same style, all of which only took about two days (it was much easier once I knew what I was doing).

The animation presented another hurdle, and I wrestled with it for a few days before it finally made sense. Part of the issue was that I wanted everything to be automated. So instead of manually placing 3 hodags in a level, I wanted a controller with a “numberOfHodags.” All of this took longer than I’d like to admit to figure out, but I finally got it working well.