Crystal Cavern?

Hello? Well, we got encouraged to share our work so here is my version of CC, except it’s not really a cavern anymore.

YouTube

Download

I will probably keep expanding on it, there are some things I’d like to remake and fix first.

11 Likes

I am blown away! This is amazing work! Keep it up!

May the force be with you!

1 Like

Thanks!

The Force is strong with this one. Awesome!

1 Like

There is only one thing I can say: UAU! Good work!!!

Hey wow! This is awesome! Sorry im still a newbie to all of this, this is one of my first ventures into UE4 im wondering did you use something like blender or equivalent, possibly even just a pre-made asset for the BB8 as well as the alternative effects?

Hi, I made the BB8 asset my self using Blender and Substance Painter. It didn’t take too long since it’s basically just a ball with a head. Though it would have been more difficult to make the texture without Substance Painter it wouldn’t be impossible (I would take a dffrent approach with the UV map in such a case).

I’m not sure what you mean by alternate effects, at least there aren’t any on the BB8 them self. If you mean the crystal glow than it’s just a Unreal Light component and Emission shader.

2 Likes

Awesome thank you for that info! Yes i was referring to the crystals :slight_smile: im still very new so the only effects ive done were the emmision on my crystals from the project.

The BB8 looks awesome, ive got the gamedev.tv blender3d course which im going to start soon im excited to be able to make cool meshes like BB8 :slight_smile: :grin:

Is substance painter your application of choice or are there other options to achieve the same goal? As i havent looked into 3d modelling as yet im not sure of the functionality included within blender for example?

Blender is my main choice for modelling while Substance is my go to texturing tool.