Creating a new remote after cloning

For this section it could be really helpful to have an example of how to setup a new remote after having cloned a project.
I cloned the project, made some changes and commits and am now ready to push it online. Of course it tells me that I don’t have the necessary permissions. Ben tells us that we have to create our own version of the remote. But being a complete beginner I’m not really sure what the best way to do this would be.

2 Likes

I have been stuck on cloning problem with Sourcetree all day as well and would appreciate some help.

1 Like

Yes, I am stuck here too. But I assume that you will simply need to clone for example the “Project Boost” to your own Github account and create a repo with it in there, so you can have full permission to do anything you want.

All you need to do is to head over to your GitHub account, “import repository”:
insert Ben link from his GitHub there:

Then wait for the import to be completed, then go to SourceTree clone your OWN copy of Ben repo in your end, and you should have full access.

2 Likes

Hi Tudorvp,

I was able to go forward with the material but I still have a lot of issues with Sourcetree. I can still use it as a GUI to monitor the changes but I have to use the console to push (using the git push origin master command, that opens up a SSH link) because each time I use the button I get infinite loading with no error message.

Cloning kinda worked, I used the terminal to link it to my own repo.
I know it sounds weird, but it’s like it’s not “fully linked” for example, if I click on the sourcetree - Repository - View Repository Online it still direct me toward where I downloaded it on the GameDev.tv repo.

It feels like a mess,
I mean I can make it work, but it’s bad.
Maybe I’m doing something wrong?

Yeah well, I tried to clone in github first and then bring it into sourcetree. Nope.
Still infinite loading screen :