Course feedback

I’m only on section 15 and I already feel lost. Terms and their functions are not being explained properly, I’m being asked to run before I can walk, objectives aren’t clear. Honestly I feel as though I’m just copying code and not really learning anything because the lectures offer such a vague explanation on how and why I’m doing things. Every single challenge I’ve been presented has left me absolutely confused and the solution usually doesn’t match up with what was being done in the lecture. I know it’s supposed to be a situation where failure doesn’t matter, but it’s not reassuring when I’m having to skip to the solution every time.

I’m brand new to coding, and I really want to learn, but the course doesn’t feel like it’s accommodating to people in my position, I simply don’t understand what I’m doing or why I’m doing it.

Hi! I’ll preface this with saying I’m not too far ahead of you in terms of the overall course, but thought I’d lend some thoughts.

The main thing I would suggest is really take your time to absorb the bits and pieces, and think about what you’re working with. Pause the video when a new function is mentioned, google the keyword, and see what it says it does.

Up until Lecture 12, most of everything is just getting set-up. Even 12 is making an empty ‘main’, which is what C++ knows to start with when we compile (read: turn the code into something that can run).

Inside the main, we want to print out a little welcome message to the screen, and the function that does that is cout. It uses a different structure to some of the other functions you earn later, but basically saying

std::cout << “Hang in there!”;

Will use the cout function in the standard library, to print Hang in there! to your screen. Because this counts as output to a stream, it has the include of the <iostream> library.

The other major piece to get your head around is variables. The line that has

constexpr int WORLD_LENGTH = 9;