Combining Multiple Fields

Hey all, having trouble with this particular video, I’ve posted a question in the video but I can’t see it pop up. I think there is a problem with the “ask a question” system today.

I have been following along. I’m sure there is an issue with my nodes. but the grass still comes through the rocks.
When I.: plug the nodes in any other pattern, either the rocks disappear or the whole thing does. Could anyone please point out and explain where I’ve gone wrong so. I understand what’s happening please?

Thanks.

1 Like

I have no experience with geo-nodes!
To be honest I don’t like the very abstract way to perform things in a piece of software which is build around a visual environment.

In the old way of using (grass) particles, we added particles and a weight paint property.
With this weight paint you could paint areas to influence the amount of (grass) particles.
Like 0 … 100% (more visuel, more understandable).

In your geo-nodes case, it looks the region of the stones isn’t wide enough to disable the growth of the grass particles. Probably a scaling problem in the math (or coordinates).

Maybe it will help you solve this problem.

unfortunately changing values hasn’t worked. ive tried to change the values of every node that appears to be relevant with no success. im sure its a flow issue i just cant see what it is exactly

1 Like

Which lecture is it part of doing, so we can look at what that has and may be able to spot a difference.

@StephenWoods

2 Likes

How did you keep the grass and rocks away from the trees? You used geometry proximity nodes based on the tree locations and float curves fit into the density factors of the relevant distribute points on faces nodes. If you want the grass to not be in the rocks, you have to play the same game, but using the geometry proximity based on the rock locations.