Clothing retopo

I’m finishing up a character I created using the dragon course as a guide. I strayed from the course at the end, as my needs are a bit different. I have a character I will be using in animation (videos). I bought a clothing asset, but it’s high poly (130,000 - I’m still fairly new to Blender, but that seems high for what it is). I’ve tried going through the process to make an LP version, but it’s giving me a lot of trouble.

At this point, my questions would be:

1. Does the poly count matter? (I’m thinking I want cloth simulation for some of the video work, though I’m not dead set on it.) I’m not looking for big flourishy movement here, just trying to emulate the way cloth hangs and moves with a body.
  2. Is there a way to retopo clothing easily? Should I do it manually? Nothing’s worked so far. Instant Meshes gives a messy mesh. Voxel and Quad (in Blender) aren’t any better. Sometimes the issue is normals. Either the inside or outside of the mesh (a hoodie, in this case) will have the normals facing in the “wrong” direction. I get error messages pointing that out.
  3. Should I just model clothing as part of the body mesh? Maybe I can add separate objects that will provide some movement (like the drawstrings on the hoodie).

My animation isn’t photorealistic. I’m going for a look similar to Shrek or How to Train Your Dragon, though not as detailed. I’d like to have some cloth movement, but I suppose I could live without it for now. Any thoughts?

Thank you.

1 Like

It depends, you have more details to show. But render times will increase, which is important for animations. So for animations you want lower poly count.
If render time is not an issue than you could use high poly.

yes, you have special functions and or tools for this. The quality depends.
Doing it manually you have more freedom in solutions of difficult areas.
Depending on how this clothing part is used.