Clothing Question

Just finished the belt and wanted to get feedback as this is my first time modeling clothing. I also had a clothing related question: I will be making an army uniform and street clothes for my character and wondered if the same plane method used in making the belt can be used for pants/shirts, also for the rest of the holds around the belt, could those be implemented by texture instead of having to model in holes around the belt? Sorry for the winded explanation.

2 Likes

Of course, there are many ways to do clothing.
First, you need to think about how your character will be used!
Do you need the body skin?
Because the body itself can be texture with clothing fabrics.
Only accessories need to be modeled like the belt.
If your need the body skin and an extra layer of clothing mesh, it is a very difficult exercise!
Especially when using armature to pose the figure.

You can use the Solidify modifier to add an extra clothing layer.
Set thickness and make offset positive (outside the existing mesh).
And select “Only rim”, which doesn’t create backside faces (clothing inner mesh).

You do this on a copy of your original body. After applying you have a clothing mesh layer.
Which can be used to make clothing.

But clothing will block your original body mesh. Which can’t be seen, or partly.
Then you can merge them or find another solution.

It getting tricky here!
So if you are doing the Orc challenge, then it is best to stick to the course, it’s difficult enough without clothing.

4 Likes

FedPete is correct. Depending on the end use things can be done differently.

Yes you could fake the holes in a belt with textures. Or model them. Choices choices!

2 Likes