CL not working

Hey, this is my first post - and it’s because I need help. I have no experience with C++, so this is all foreign to me.

My code is not compiling for the first part of the TripleX.cpp game. When I typed CL, it doesn’t work, and I get an error saying “cl is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file”.

I pinned the command prompt from a previous lesson to my task bar, and opened that/typed “code” to open visual studio. I do not see any errors in the code. I successfully changed the default profile to cmd instead of powershell.

I’m going to include a screenshot of where I’m at, I have highlighted what I THINK the problem is, but I’m unsure how to fix it - if it’s even the problem. The command prompt from the previous version says visual basic 2019 community, so I’m wondering if it’s the wrong command prompt? If so, how do I fix that? Or if the problem is something else…I have no idea!

Thanks in advance, guys.

Visual Studio Community 2022/2019/etc. and Visual Studio Code are different products.

Visual Studio Community is a fully fledged integrated development environment (IDE). It comes with a compiler, debugging tools, an editor, etc.

Visual Studio Code on the other hand is just a text editor, it doesn’t have a compiler.

To be able to compile from the command line you need to run that command prompt (or the batch file that that prompt loads) in order to set up the environment to the compiler and standard libraries et al.

When you type “code” using that prompt it’s just opening VS Code with that environment loaded so you have access to “cl”, the compiler.

I’m not seeing anything particularly wrong with what you’re showing so could you try File > Close Folder, then Close > Window and then try again?

1 Like

I have closed/re opened the window multiple times using the X in the corner, but it never worked.