Cinemachine's Aim & Body Fields Keep Autocollapsing On Play

Hi! I’m using Unity 2021.3.23f1 as well as Cinemachine 2.8.9 and I noticed every time I hit play even after expanding Cinemachine’s “Body” and “Aim” sections, it forces them to autocollapse each time and I have to manually expand them again in play mode to see the grid that tracks the object the camera is focusing on. This doesn’t happen at all for Rick in the tutorial. Is this normal and just part of this newer version? It seems really inconvenient to have to expand these fields every single time to show the Cinemachine overlay on top of the game window every single time you enter play mode.

1 Like

I’m not very good with cinemachine, however there are some general tips to solve this:

This icon locks the inspector:
download

Alternatively, you can try resetting the layout of the Unity editor to its default settings. To do this, go to the “Layout” menu in the top-right corner of the editor and select “Default”. This may fix any layout issues that are causing the inspector to collapse.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your suggestions, Christopher! Unfortunately, I tried both of them and the panels still keep collapsing.

1 Like

Hmm, you said the versions could have an impact, maybe that’s the case, the method of locking the inspector worked for me and I used 2021.1, you could try resizing the inspector possibly, if it’s too small, I find unity might collapse it, starting to think this is version related.

1 Like

After my hockey practice imma try to hop on my computer and figure this out better.

1 Like

Thank you so much! That’s very kind of you and I really appreciate it! I just tried resizing the inspector to take up 75% of my screen (lol) and unfortunately had the same results.

1 Like

That sucks, imma try and see on my computer in 20 min when I get back home.

1 Like

Sorry, I’m still trying to figure out, hopefully I’ll find something, rn I’m trying to create a script that keeps the tabs open