Character Creator cartesian coordinates reversed? Lesson 40 Blender 4.0

So I’m following the course and in the video it shows the coordinates as positive y while mine is negative y when I hit 1 on the numpad. (I think it was front view?) Then when I hit 3 (Not sure what this one is called I forget already) it shows a positive x which is what it shows in the video but I can no longer see the cube. In order for me to see the cube I have to reverse it to see negative x. I’m not sure what is going on basically the side view is in a different direction then what is in the video. I don’t think I did anything different. Maybe I accidently hit a button. Here is a few images of what im talking about.

This image is the front view with the -y coordinates

This image is the side view with a +x coordinate

2 Likes

Not sure if they are inverted since some Blender versions.
But it shouldn’t be any problem to follow the lessons.

2 Likes

Ok I didnt know if it made a difference. Im brand new to blender or any modeling for that matter

2 Likes

My math knowledge is way, way back … not sure what the standard is.

Blender has its own thoughts about the default XYZ-axis.
Like Blender Z-axis up, while like other applications, like 3D-printers, Unity has a Y-ax up.
And the Z-ax is then like Blenders Y-ax, front to back.

But it isn’t that important, just inconvenient when migrating from one system to another system. Conversion is easy, but if you are unaware of this you can have some troubles.

3 Likes

Thanks for the info, im used to programming with coordinates lol

1 Like

So numpad 3 is right side view. Nupad 1 is front view. First option is you can move the image to the left(-x direction) or backwards from the right side view. Second option you can click the image/data tab of the properties editor and change depth to back instead of default.