Bricks not breaking after 2nd & 3rd hit // Transparent bricks

Hello,

Two small technical issues here. Some of my bricks appear more transparent than others (see pics attached). It only started happening once I created Level 2 and Level 3. Anybody knows what’s doing this ?
On Level 2 the bricks are completely transparent. On Level 1 only some of them.

As for the Brick.cs script that makes the other blocks break after 2nd & 3rd hit:
It’s not working for me, all bricks break after 1st hit. If anybody has some advice on this, I would very much appreciate it. I’m a total newbie to Unity. Thx

Hi Alex,

Check the Z-index value in the Transform on the Brick prefabs…

From the look of your script you may not have got to the lecture yet which is responsible for changing the sprite based on the number of hits.

Hi,

The Z Values are always the same for the bricks. (pics attached) I still don’t understand why some appear transparent. Especially since the problem only showed up once I created other levels (aka. Scenes)

As for the bricks. I’m at episode 82, the tutorial demontrates how the second row bricks break at the second hit and the top bricks at third hit. It’s just not working on mine.
The code for this is in brick.cs script, but I have to enter the ‘max hits’ in the brick (script) section of each brick in the Unity options. Screenshot is attached (showing 3 max hits for green bricks for ex.)
I tested it, it doesn’t take the ‘max hits’ into account. They all break at first hit.

1 Like

Hi Alex,

Other posts I’ve seen about the missing bricks usually end up either being the z-index of the brick, e.g. it’s actually behind the background image and in 2D view you can’t see it (you could check this by switching to 3D view in the scene moving around behind the background image). Or, if the sprites are actually missing from the sprites array.