Blender Anime sculpt blocking out

Hi, I am pretty new to Blender, though making progress. I am working my way through Grant Abbit’s anime tutorial, and at 6% though I am stuck. I am having to restart so many times as i make my blocking 3D. I know that experience makes it easy, but this is the first time since i started 6months ago that i cannot move passed this one stage. Eyes, Mouth, they are all fine. its the head that ends up wonky, messy. Is there a way i can restrict the proportional edit function to stop messing with my scale? As i view the head with planes i try to get the curve of the head, and then it looks like an alien attacked her. any suggestions would be great. ta

1 Like

General Q&A note

Help us all to help you.
Please give full screenshots with any questions. With the relevant panels open.
This can be done by Blender itself, via the ‘Window’ menu bar top left-hand side.
On that menu dropdown is ‘save screenshot’.
Also, if possible, include the lecture time and name/number that is relevant to the problem/issue.

• In EDIT mode you can change the proportional edit function (hotkey ‘o’), the in GRAB mode (g-key) and using your mouse scroll wheel.

• You can also HIDE parts of the mesh not to be influenced by the proportional edit, but this trick can lead to other problems.

As said in the state, always add a screen dump, because we’re not sure what your exact problem is and which option you’ve switched on/off …

2 Likes

Yeah, I’ve personally found proportional editing to be challenging as well, simply because it’s less intuitive than a lot of the other stuff. Here are a few things you might want to try: