Be the first to post for 'Using Raycasts To Query Click'!

If you’re reading this, there probably aren’t very many posts yet. But don’t worry, you can be the first! Either create a new post or just reply to this one to say ‘hi’.

Hi Ben,

I’ve putted the layerHit printing command in the LateUpdate method. Is this correct as well? I wanted to make sure everything in the game is updated before checking if the cursor target world position is indeed ‘Walkable’.

Jeroen

1 Like

As a dev, I loved this lesson Ben. Good to be able to look over the code really quick and see what’s happening without too much explanation. If I understand it and need to move forward, I can always speed up the video.

I feel like this video was a exactly where it should be, technology wise.

What’s sad is even as a dev, I always forget how to ‘find’ things on my gameObject (ie, I got stuck on how to find the raycaster). Just seems so weird to simply look for stuff attached to my object, don’t know why.

2 Likes

Good idea, hadn’t thought of that. I’m interested to hear what others say.

1 Like

Hi @tvance929, according to Ben’s response on Udemy it does not really make a difference when you put the print command in the Update() or LateUpdate(). I guess for me it was just a good practise :wink: I think when necessary, adjusting the script execution order via Edit > Project Settings > Script Execution Order could’ve helped as well.

1 Like

Just as a precaution in case anyone else comes to this lecture. At present the current video is the incorrect one (its from the unreal course). I have let @ben know and will update when the correct video has been applied.

Thanks for your patience.

Update :- Correct video is showing at the moment for me although not in the correct order (That will resolve itself in time)

I havent watched the solution yet so probably going to get something wrong lol

Edit :- Slaps hand Lower case c its a variable

1 Like