Be the first to post for 'Rising Complexity, Refactoring'!

If you’re reading this, there probably aren’t very many posts yet. But don’t worry, you can be the first! Either create a new post or just reply to this one to say ‘hi’.

I’ll just leave this here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kyAn3fSs8_A

(it seems the embedding code doesn’t work in these forums!)

Near term plan:

1. Make arrows shot by archers more visible; already done orientation towards the target.
  2. Additional palm trees and other vegetation.
  3. Skulls near the beach to presage hostile territory.
  4. Ensure projectiles cleanly collide with target and are reaped regardless of whether they hit.
  5. Code the opening of the doors in the stone wall.

Maybe:

1. Visual indication of active healing shrine (not in cool-off).
1 Like

Thanks for sharing your plans.

As a software developer I normally make a design model using UML diagrams. When designing you manage the things descussed in this video. You think about a design to implement features, but you also look at the features that will come later. You want a design that scales with that.

I’m actually wondering how people are modeling the software for unity projects. Are you guys also using UML for this? I can imagine you make object diagrams where you show how game objects are build of which components.

Here’s my plan for the next couple of weeks

1. Actually sit down and design my level flow.
    I’ll be honest, as good as Rick’s videos are, level design / world building isn’t my strong suit and I’d rather be learning some new coding techniques. However, it’s now at the point where I really need to get out of my different sandboxes and start building a proper level. I have all the tools I need but I’m a bit like a painter staring at a blank canvas when it comes to level building.

2. Level design done - now to actually tune my enemies for the scenario.