Be the first to post for 'Intro to Xcode on MacOS'!

If you’re reading this, there probably aren’t very many posts yet. But don’t worry, you can be the first! Either create a new post or just reply to this one to say ‘hi’.

hello, great course so far although running everything at the same time managed to crash a brand new mac book pro! i don’t dare do it on the pc though as I’m pretty sure it would catch fire. was wondering if anyone knew if you could put line numbers in Xcode to make debugging easier, as i have no doubt error messages will appear in line number format like they do in the arduino IDE.
many thanks
martyn

ok… so for anyone else who might be wondering how to do it (I’m new to mac’s) click Xcode (top left) > preferences > text editing and it should be the top option depending on the version of Xcode you have, hope that helps
martyn

1 Like

Hi!
I am starting this course on a Mac, but I think I will go through it again and try it with my PC as well. There are just so many more opportunities for powerful graphics on the PC, but I think there is a perspective to be learned from doing the course on a Mac too.

Help! I want to move on from this lesson, but the build never succeeds. This is the code I am inputting std::cout « “Hello World\n”; but its not working out. I’ve tried playing with the spaces around the words like std::cout «“Hello World\n”; but still fails. What am I doing wrong?

Please use code formatting

Hey Ben!

I am using a Mac and I wanted to ask your opinion on using CLion as a C++ IDE.

I have it available to me thanks to my status as student and I understand it is a fairly powerful Editor. Are you familiar with it, and if so, is it appropriate for the course?

Cheers,

-Frankie

HI Frankie,