Balancing my personal life with my passions and pursuits

Hello everyone! I’m an indie game dev form Brazil and I’ve been trying to develop my first game, and started the Finish It course, and got super excited to continue working on it again after months of serial procrastination. It’s my passion and I need to have it finished, and so I began taking my routines more seriously.
I don’t know if this forum is the right place to ask this kind of advice, but since it’s a productivity course, I decided to give it a go.
My boyfriend hasn’t been taking this shift so well. He’s curretly unemployed, and he texts me basically all the time. And while I am really excited to get productive again and continue this passion project I’ve been tracing for years, I don’t want to neglect him attention, but I can’t keep getting distracted…
So yeah, sorry if this was off-topic for the forum, it was more of a vent really. I figured I’d post it here if anyone had a similar dillema in the past. Hope you all are having a good time making your own games! :3

Hi @Raulboo!

This is quite a personal question, since there are very different ways to approach this dilema and they all depend on your specific situation, personality, etc.

For what I can understand from your text is that you are passionate about making games but you haven’t been taking it seriously for a while. In that regard, I can also understand that your boyfriend is also not seeing this as something serious, but more like a simple hobby.

So first of all, you need to ask yourself: Are you serious about becoming a developer or is this just a hobby?

Any answer to this question is the right one, but either way, if you are serious about spending more time developing your skills, then a good thing you can do is make an schedule and stick to it.

You need to learn how to be disciplined and actually put in the hours of work, which I think you are already doing :smiley: