Any recommendations?

Hi, I recently started taking the new Unreal Engine 5 C++: Make Your Own Action Combat Game course. I’m having trouble understanding the functions and key concepts, or probably don’t understand anything at all. The instructor, Luis Ramirez, goes through everything so quickly while lacking clear explanation that it makes it difficult to grasp information. However, I’ve never used C++ in Unreal Engine before, so this is understandable. I see on the website it said this is an intermediate course and thought I might be suitable, but I clearly have underestimated it. If someone has any supplementary videos or courses that I should take, or even advice that would help, please help!

What should I do?
Drop the course or continue?

My background:
I’m quite familiar on an intermediate level; I’d say my C++ is 6/10. Also, I did take some additional C++ courses, including one from GameDev.tv + Stephen Ulibarri.
I’ve created plenty of Unreal Engine cinema scenes, but I primarily use blueprints.

Hi,
The course expects you to have a knowledge of C++and exposure to unreal. If you’ve never used C++ then it is definitely the wrong course to start with. The Unreal 2d course or the Unreal beginners C++ course would be better. Note the beginners course is not beginners C++ but unreal in general. There’s also a C++ fundamentals course meant for beginners that would help. I would consider this and the 3d beginners course a good place to start.

I hope this helps.

2 Likes

Given your background, it sounds like you’ve taken our C++ Fundamentals course already and you have some prior experience with C++ outside of the context of Unreal Engine.

While Unreal 2D would be a lighter load on the C++ front, I would actually go with Unreal Beginner C++ as that was the intended jump-to point from C++ Fundamentals.