An easy way to "break" a piece?

I opted to make more of a draconid/human character. Will share when the sculpt is done. Not sure if I want to go this route yet, but… My character has multiple horns, and I was wondering… Is there an “easy” way to say… have one of the horns, say after applying the mirror modifier, have a tip or piece broken off? Is there a way to do this in sculpt mode, or would I have to go into edit? Essentially I’m thinking as if I was sculpting with clay, and took a wire and just lobbed off a piece.

May or may not end up doing it, but it would definitely add character, and as someone who loves more animalistic based characters and creatures, I imagine this could be a VERY useful technique for myself in the future.

(Side note in case relevant: Complete blender noob. This is my first project ever in sculpt mode, and I only know of the tools used in the tutorial so far. Do have a tablet from a previous purchase).

2 Likes

Yes, so long as you are not using a mirror or sculpt’s version, symmetry, then you can go to edit mode and cut a bit off. I would us C, to paint select all I want off, then Y. Then link select the bit you had and it will move, so is separated.
Select the cut off part with L for linked with the mouse hovering over the bit you want to select.
Then press P, ‘by selection’.

2 Likes

Thanks! This worked! Now, my noobiness stated, is there an easy way to cap off the end? I ended up doing it just by meticulously selecting the many, many edges of the now open end, then new face from edge, moved it out a bit as there was significant overlapping. Back to sculpt mode, retopology, then smoothed any remaining rough bits, and it looks pretty good. Just curious as to whether there’s a more efficient way.

1 Like