Alternative way to add score: which is more beneficial?

Hi! Great course so far! Thank you for that.

I have a question about the solution of the AddToScore challenge. I’m still new to coding and as English is not my native language I might have some trouble with the terminology. I hope that you understand what I mean here.

So, my solution was a bit different from the one used in the video. I put the FindObjectOfType into the Start method and only called for gameStatus.AddToScore in the DestroyBlock method. After the challenge my Block.cs script was like this:

using System.Collections;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using UnityEngine;

public class Block : MonoBehaviour
{
    [SerializeField] AudioClip destroyBlockSound;

// Cached reference

Level level;
    GameStatus gameStatus;

private void Start()
    {
        level = FindObjectOfType<Level>(); 

gameStatus = FindObjectOfType<GameStatus>();
    }

private void OnCollisionEnter2D(Collision2D collision)
    {
        DestroyBlock();
    }

private void DestroyBlock()
    {
        AudioSource.PlayClipAtPoint(destroyBlockSound, Camera.main.transform.position); 
        Destroy(gameObject);

gameStatus.AddToScore();

level.BlockDestroyed();
    }
}

I tested and it works like a charm. However I’d like to know if there are any significant benefits for using the solution shown on the lecture video.

Thanks!

Hi,

Good job on developing your own solution. I’ve read it, and I wasn’t able to spot an issue. If it works, it’s valid. In many cases, there are multiple ways of making something work in Unity.