About 'Public Methods & Return Types'!

In this video (objectives)…

1. Public versus private access modifier.
  2. What are return types for methods.
  3. Writing a public method and accessing it from another class.

After watching (learning outcomes)…

Create a public method and access it from another class.

(Unique Video Reference: 8_TX_CUD)

We would love to know…

• What you found good about this lecture?
  • What we could do better?

Remember that you can reply to this topic, or create a new topic. The easiest way to create a new topic is to follow the link in Resources. That way the topic will…

• Be in the correct forum (for the course).
  • Be in the right sub-forum (for the section)
  • Have the correct lecture tag.

Enjoy your stay in our thriving community!

Hei @Rick_Davidson thank you for the series! I have a question. So i have some background with OOP and i understand you basically instantiated an object of type State and everything; However there are two things that i am confused about. 1) when you instantiate an object, for example ‘’'state", you did : State StartingState;
however shouldn’t you do it like so? State StartingState = new State();
2) Also i am confused about the part when you drag and drop the scriptable object onto the object “StartingState” in the unity inspector; i am more of a coder and would like to know what actually happens “under the hood” of unity when you do that, maybe you can give me an example of how you would do that without actually working in unity but actually writing code which will do the exact same thing so i can understand it better.Also one last thing, is the scriptable object actually an instance of an object from the State class? An answer from either the community or you Rick would be fantastic! Thank You!

Hi Luca,