A view of production git w/remotes

I’d like to share how I tend to use git (generally with GitHub or Bitbucket) using the graph and history of one of my ‘day job’ (non-Unity but still c#) projects, rather than my ‘first git branch screenshot’, just as I hope it may end up having value to someone to see what the future holds after using it consistently and extensively for a longer timeframe.

Apart from being a c# dev I get to oversee a number of other devs for around 100 repos. Not everyone in our company uses the same workflows for various reasons, but when I coach more junior users I tend to have a preference or bias one way, but we allow them to go off and develop adjustments to it as needed.

This project I’ve been working on for a little over a year now, for context it’s a c# client app with around 65k lines of code, over 400 commits, about 15 releases (approx. monthly cadence). So not massive (I’ve worked on code bases more than 20-30x this size before) but fair effort for the timeframe and resources given I’m really the only contributor to this piece of it.

Here’s what it looks like in Visual Studio’s branch-history view, which is a graph view I use more than most others actually.

A few areas I wanted to draw attention to in it were:

1. Branching flow
  • You can see it’s a reasonably “clean” looking flow, not much spaghetti action going on here. It’s a personal tweak on “git flow” (a named methodology for how to branch and update your code). I like clean!

1b. Lifetime branches

• On the left you’ll see Master, the first branch created, but once created only ever Merge-Committed into (using a pull request) from Develop when it’s time to release.