2D sprite quality

Hello everyone ! :slight_smile:
As I am working on Space shooter tutorial currently , I decided to do all the sprites myself , but I came upon a problem I am not able to solve. When I add the sprite to Unity , at first it looks really good , but if I downscale it , it looks quite horrible , all jagged. And I have playing with all the sprite editor settings , so I managed to make it look decent , but not the quality I am looking for , could anyone help ?
Screenshot%20(18)

P.S the small one is with all the applied settings (Generate Mip Map , Filter mode - Trilinear , Max size 128 , and uploaded as with 200x210 dimensions with resolution of 200pixels/inch) , the bigger is just put in and downscaled a little bit , but too big for what I am looking for.

I’m not an expert about Sprites in Unity but I think the problem is this. Judging from the first picture I see that this sprite has the dimension of 1080-720 pixels, which means it’s a really big sprite, now if you really want your sprite maintain a good looking I think you should make a scale trasformation without losing quality of your sprite or you can increase the value of Pixel Per Unit of the Sprite in Unity.

The Mip Map doesn’t solve your problem because that’s related to the distance between the object, that has the sprite, to the camera.

I hope this solves your problem.

1 Like

Hi,

First of all, good job on the design. It looks awesome.

If @Reaver’s tips don’t work for you, try the following:

Save your current design in a new file. Name that file “_small” or something like that. Then scale it down until it has the target size or until it is slightly larger. If something does not look as intended, correct it in Autodesk SketchBook. The thin lines probably need to be a bit wider. For the very small version, I would make the gaps between the long, thin “flukes” a bit wider if you want to make the smaller “fluke” visible.

Good luck! :slight_smile:

1 Like