What's everyone's approach to error checking?

I believe most people fall into one of 3 categories:

1. Error-checking… what’s that?
  2. Well… if I HAVE to.
  3. Error-check ALL the things!!!

I myself generally fall into the third category. I assume that if there’s even the most remote possibility of divine intervention, someone will find a way to cause an error, so I try to do something of that sort.

The problem with my approach, is that I sometimes finding my function becoming bogged down with conditionals and loops and whatnot for purposes of error-checking and validation… Enough so that it can sometimes interfere with clarity of my function’s purpose.

How about you all?

As a senior business developer I rely on defensive coding and ‘never trust the input / user’ in my day job.
So test driven development (TDD) with Unit Tests and input validation is something you naturally grow into :slight_smile:

But: Pre-Optimization is the root of all evil.
I try to protect my pointers and encapsulate methods as good as I can to minimize the error checking.

In the end it depends on your experience. Oh, and the best experience is to break your stuff and learn from it :wink:

:+1: Fail Faster - there is no instant win :+1:
Twitter: @GamedevCala - Blog: nerd-time.com - Twitch: GamedevCala

4 Likes

Hey Bryant,

I’m very much of the defensive programming type myself. I write a lot of smaller tools at work and I often find a lot of relief in having my own error checking and validation returning useful messages long after i’d written the tool and forgotten what my headspace was in.

I also got into this habit when I started handing over my tools to coworkers who would use them in unexpected ways. Most of the time they would come back saying it’s a bug rather than something I didn’t see a need to implement. I found that anything that gets in the way of a smooth user experience will result in a greater chance of them throwing away the tool.