[SOLVED] Assignment of KeyCodes

Is a complete newb at this so if I don’t speak the correct jargon, please forgive me. This is a lot to learn and comprehend for someone totally new, especially the vocabulary and where all the bits reside in what part of the script and why. :slight_smile: While my script works fine, I have a couple of general questions hopefully to better understand what we are doing and why we are doing it.

First question I have is this. When creating each of the keycodes in the lecture for input selection, why were some of the keycode characters reused in some of the if/else if void statements rather than assigning a unique keycode for each item listed in the enumerator?

I am assuming, since the reused keycode characters are being redefined in different void statements, it doesn’t matter if the keycodes are unique to each item set forth in the enumerator since you are defining each keycode in each void statement. And, my assumption is there is some sort of consistency rule regarding the player’s input is in place for reusing the keycodes.

Second question I have, is if you give each keycode a unique character for each item in the enumorator list, couldn’t you create a state function of all your keycodes to be used in the void Update portions of the script so all keycodes are available to all the void statements? I don’t know if this is stated correctly or if my thought processes are even logical at this point.

I understand that you are declaring specific keys to be pressed in your void statements to call for a specific action to happen. But, wouldn’t it be easier to do some type of exclusion under your void statements of what should NOT be pressed from the state you initially created of all pre-fined keycodes for the game?