Question about pointers and arrays

Alright, so I was watching the Unreal course and I got waaaaay past the pointers lecture, being sure that I’ve understood their use.

But then I started playing with them and more specific, tried to return an array from a function, using a pointer. Then, everything went wrong.

In the code you see below, I have a method called int * returnarr() which uses a pointer to “return” an array that I’ve declared in the method. Then I declare the pointer parr which points to the first element of arr and I return it ( I could just return arr but I wanted to do it this way now).

In main() now: I declare the pointer "p", which takes the returning value from the method returnarr().
Then, I just run through the addresses with a for loop and I try to display their contents. Here’s the code and here are the results:

Code

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int * returnarr();

int main()
{
	int * p = returnarr();

for (int i = 0; i <= 4; i++)
	{
		std::cout << "\nAddress" << std::endl;
		std::cout << p+i << std::endl;

std::cout << "\nContents" << std::endl;
		std::cout << *(p+i) << std::endl;
	}

std::string z;
	std::getline(std::cin, z);
}

int * returnarr()
{
	int arr[5] = { 1,2,3,4,5 };
	int * parr = arr;
	return parr;
}

Results

Address
009EF96C

Contents

Address
009EF970

Contents

Address
009EF974

Contents

Address
009EF978

Contents

Address
009EF97C

Contents

It gets the addresses right, but not the contents…I get these weird numbers for some reason.
When I declare the original array in main() and use the pointer to display the contents, it works fine. What causes this issue here?

I’m also asking because I’m writing a program for an Arduino and I have a getter that takes a private array from a header (alarm and the array is the password).

Thank you for your time!