OnCollisionEnter2D question

Hi, I am totally newbie here for c# and I don’t grab the idea of OnCollisionEnter2D.
Is it a method? Do we have to declare it every time we use it? Say, if we declared it in LooseCollider script, why can’t we just recall it from there when we use it in Brick script?

It is an event-delegate structure built in monobehaviour. Whenever an object collides with other, the system triggers the OnCollisionEnter event and call the code block within it, there are many events like this one, such as OnMouseEnter, OnTriggerEnter etc

Thanks for fast response, appreciated. So you mean it is a function that is built in monobehaviour? Why can’t we just do, something like

if (OnCollisionEnter2D(Collision2D collision)){
hitTimes++;
}

Because the system looks for the method, if you put it within an if statement it won’t be able to call it, besides that the return type is void (don’t return anything).

Hmm… I think I’m kind of lost here. what do you mean by system looks for the method? do you mean system looks for OncollisionEnter2D method? or do you mean the OnCollisionEnter2D is not inside a method?

The Event structure have a function that is called when the collision happens, and this function points to OnCollisionEnter2D (if it is 2D) or OnCollisionEnter (if it is 3D), that is why it is called a Delegate method (it delegates what to call when the event happens).

Okay, so event structure is something like class?

It is a structure made of a couple of methods and variables inside a class (MonoBehaviour in this case). If you look at the declaration of your class, you will see that it has a “: MonoBehaviour”, this means that it inherits from the MonoBehaviour class. If you delete the : MonoBehaviour from the declaration of your class, you won’t be able to access things like Transform, Collisions, etc

Got that. Thanks for that. I guess I am not aware of the concept ‘structure’. I will look for that. thanks for your time